top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanni Lynn

Camp Life and the Disco

“My first day of class made me question my entire life. I thought, I never want to stop teaching like this, learning like this. When I see the students’ eyes light up when something clicks—wow.” Journal entry: 7/8/2019.



Camp started off at a sprint. Classes began on Monday and life kicked into full speed. An unbelievable part of the experience was the students. They were all their vibrant selves in the classroom, lunchroom or out on the trails as they did their best to learn a new language, meet new people and to ask many questions. I didn’t expect to have so much free time with the students so spending the afternoons leading activities was just as fulfilling as my mornings in class.


We had a “Disco” every few days. The Disco was a camp wide dance in the school courtyard. Everyone dressed up and came to dance to Polish Disco music, American music, Latino, line dances and more. Some students wore festival make up while others blasted out of their shells and took over the dance floor. Everyone participated and everyone danced. There was an emphasis on foot work as soloists burst into the middle of our circled groups or steps were taught and passed around as everyone learned from each other.


To me, the most shocking was all the couple dancing. Everyone would grab a partner and start to dance, whirling each other around. It was the most fun I’ve ever had dancing. Back home, I think I can safely say that eye contact while dancing is an intimate thing outside of family and super close friends. All the American staff agreed and were surprised by the normal expectation of eye contact throughout the entire dance with your partner. I don’t know. This was hard for me but once I got used to it, all the dance steps suddenly clicked, and I was able to keep up.



The Tree House

Another positive side of the disco is the chance to get to know our students. For example, someone who didn’t talk or participate in class would be almost hyper with energy and excitement at the dance. Seeing their personality open up gave me successful hints on how to engage them back in the classroom and on stage.


Oh! Also, in Poland there are awesome group dances. The King’s dance is a faster version to a Scottish dance I learned a while ago. Everyone dances in a huge circle taking steps forward and back while spinning and rotating partners at a fast pace. Sometimes, you dance in a huge circle and everyone dances in close, nearly running to each other before we back up again and repeat. The dances broke out nearly daily and often to the call of our beloved accordionist.


Over the first disco, a rainbow appeared in the sky.


The Disco and Rainbow.

Have you seen the gallery for Załęcze, Poland?

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Auschwitz

In the place where humanity cries, these are my thoughts.

Comentários


bottom of page